I Move, You Move: Wayfaring (2017)


I Move, You Move: Wayfaring (2017)


Release date: October 24, 2017
Digital album at the Allos Documents Bandcamp site and Itunes

Add To Cart


Katie Ernst: double bass and voice
James Falzone: Bb clarinet, Eb clarinet, bass clarinet, shruti box, voice, percussion, Paiute flute

1. I Move, You Move
2. Alton Sterling
3. Tanka 1
4. Tanka 2
5. Tanka 3
6. This Is My Hand
7. Pressed In Books, Like Roses
8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
9. Before Silence
10. In Silence
11. After Silence
12. Wayfaring Stranger
13. And Yet Hope

Recorded by John Abbey on August 26, 2016 at Kingsize Sound Labs, Chicago. Mixed and edited by Katie Ernst, James Falzone and John Abbey. Mastering by Scott Anthony at Storybook Sound, Maplewood, NJ. Design and photography by Dan Mohr of yes.I.said

All compositions by Katie Ernst: BMI
All compositions by James Falzone: ASCAP

This Is My Hand is composed by Shara Nova and recorded by My Brightest Diamond. All rights secured for use of this music. 

In Silence is based on a poem by Thomas Merton. Permission granted by New Directions Publishing. 

Nobody’s Fault But Mine and Wayfaring Stranger are both traditional and in the public domain.


One of the most austerely beautiful recordings of the year sounds very much like a balm for troubled times. Elements of jazz, folk, pop, blues and other genres course through this work, but it’s the long-lined lyricism and pervasive warmth of the music-making that leave the deepest and most lasting impression.
— Howard Reich, The Chicago Tribune
Modern jazz history is rife with strong duos, but Wayfaring stands out by channeling ideas from American folk tradition or the church into music that extends well beyond the language of jazz. A stunning record.
— Peter Margasak, The Chicago Reader